2nd week

By: Chenyu

Apr 13 2011

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:5.35mm
ISO:125
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:DSC-W220

I just got back from Hub Madrid, Thyssen art musem, tapas at a popular spot in Tribunal with Cristina. so tired! everyday is 5 hours of school and then exploration – Madrid has so much for me to absorb and am glad that i am here for 2 weeks to digest them.

Thyssen is my favorite museum – Reina Sofia and Prado are impressive museums that I can now say that I was standing in front of Picasso’s Guernica, and famous works of Dalí, Velazquez, El Grego, Reuben, Goya that I have seen on TV or books before. It is just mind-blowing to have the paintings, the strokes, the carefully applied colors in front of me. It is just heaven to me, but Thyssen really is close to my heart – I love Impressionism, post-Im, expressionism, fauvism, cubism etc and this museum has it all.

I was standing in front of Derain’s Waterloo bridge with a distinct Fauvism character – bright and vibrant colors. What makes this painting amazing to me is the feeling of impressionism and also pointillism in the painting. I remember Eva and I just went across Waterloo bridge 2 weeks ago. Now am in front of the painting of where I was 2 weeks ago- how amazing that is?

Monet, Gauguin, Cezanne, Pissarro, Sisley, Degas, Kirshnur, Matisse, Kandinsky, Edward Hopper’ art works are in front of m eyes. I stared at some of them for a while to take the painting in.

yesterday, Petra and Ozge invited me to go to El Escorial with them and I was a bit caught off guard – after missing the first train by 10 seconds and getting off at the wrong station. we thought the day is done but as I always believe that things always work out eventually. THe summer schedule just started and now it was closing at 7pm.

(to be edited)

Leave a Reply

